Skip to the content

History of BSRBCC

The foundation of a cooperation of law enforcement agencies working at the borders in the Baltic Sea Region was initiated by Finland’s Foreign Secretary, Mrs Tarja Halonen, during a conference of the Council of the Baltic Sea in Kalmar / Sweden in 1996.

Consequently the establishment of the BSRBCC (Baltic Sea region Border control Cooperation) was decided in Turku/Finland in the context of the first meeting of the heads of the Border Guard Services of the -10- Baltic Sea States in 1997.

Member states are: Estonia, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia and Sweden. Iceland holds an observer status.

The field of operations of the BSRBCC covers extensively the entire field of cross - border criminality and carries out environmental protection in the maritime area.

National coordination centres (NCC) which are connected 24/7 have been built up in all member states. Moreover, the BSRBCC is the frame for carrying out operations, further education and regular meetings, also under observation and participation of Frontex.

According to Frontex, the BSRBCC is regarded as an example for other cooperation forms.